33 days to go

Tuesday August 18th
33 Days until The Great North Run

Total Raised: £50!
www.anthonynolanevents.org.uk/charleshogge
Distance run today: 17.5km.  Now, before we get too excited about this, I would like to point out that ‘Distance run today’ uses ‘run’ in the loosest possible sense of the word.  Truth be told it would be more accurate to say ‘Distance covered today’.  Still, 11 miles is 11 miles, it’s only 2 miles short of the final target and I’m still in one piece.  My feel hurt a little bit, but nothing too dramatic, and I fall asleep tonight more confident than ever that I will at least be able to finish the race on the 20th….  right, since writing that last sentence I have noticed an email from the race organisers sitting in my inbox.  I’ve opened it up and read it, and they have claimed, no, stated, the following:

One month before the race you should be able to run 8 miles comfortably in a training session as part of your structured training plan.

I’m comforting myself with the fact that ‘comfortably’ is a relative term.  Compared to this time last year, I can certainly run 8 miles comfortably!  Anyway, what do they know?!  Head down, carry on, worry about it not working on the day, if at all.  Everything is going to be fine…

As I mentioned yesterday, I had booked today off in order to catch up on some sleep, go for a proper run and get Touch of Madness moving.  I knew last night it would be unlikely that I would tick all three of those boxes and, sure enough, I slept late and spent the rest of the day gearing up to go for a run and then actually going for that run.  Oh, and I did some washing and tidied my room.  Basically, I once again managed to put of the life-changing actions in order to do the slightly easier and more instantly gratifying things.  Since I was a child I’ve been told that ‘delayed gratification is the sign of an adult’.  I don’t think it’s a surprise to anyone to find out that I am pretty far from being a fully paid up member of adulthood.  I don’t mind delayed gratification, as long as I can enjoy it right now. 

I’m determined to hit the gym tomorrow.

Touch of Madness
Progress today: None. I am pretty embarrassed about how slowly this is going.  Let’s just say that I’m giving you all time to catch your breath before things get really wild.  Start breathing deeply, it’s gonna happen any day soon.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

